Vanderbilt Law School Board of Advisors

Meet Our New Board Members

Members of the Board of Advisors listen to a presentation by Dean Chris Guthrie that addressed law school admissions, faculty recruitment, curriculum, and alumni relations and development.

Members of the Board of Advisors listen to a presentation by Dean Chris Guthrie that addressed law school admissions, faculty recruitment, curriculum, and alumni relations and development. The board meets every October in conjunction with Reunion and every April in conjunction with the Founders Circle Dinner.

The law school welcomed 20 new members to its Board of Advisors in fall 2011.

Andre Burba, Class of 2000, is a principal with Pine Brook Road Partners, a New York-based private equity firm specializing in the energy and financial services sectors. He previously worked at Credit Suisse in New York.

James W. (Jim) Cuminale, Class of 1978, has served as the chief legal officer at Nielsen since 2006. He previously served as general counsel and secretary of PanAmSat Corporation, a leading global satellite communications company.

David P. (Dave) Damus, Class of 1990, is chief executive officer of System Property Development Company in Los Angeles, California. He previously served as chief executive officer of the L&R Group of Companies, a real estate and parking company.

Rana B. DiOrio, Class of 1991, is an active growth capital investor, investment banker and lawyer. She founded Little Pickle Press, an award-winning publisher of children's media, in 2009.

Harrison J. (Buzz) Frahn IV, Class of 1996, is a partner at Simpson Thacher & Bartlett in Silicon Valley, and helped found Simpson Thacher's office there in 1999. He focuses on litigating cases for high-tech companies.

Leigh E. Friestedt, Class of 1996, is the founder of Equity IX, a media holding company for her original screenplays and investments. She was previously an M&A investment banker at Donaldson Lufkin & Jenrette, Lazard and GE Capital.

Matthew M. (Matt) Friestedt, Class of 1996, is a partner in Sullivan & Cromwell, where he focuses on compensation matters arising in mergers, acquisitions, divestitures and leveraged buyouts.

Nicholas C. (Nick) Gladding, Class of 1970, is special counsel to Adams and Reese in Sarasota, Florida. He focuses on environmental law with experience in most EPA regions and serves on the Florida Energy and Climate Commission.

Robert D. Hays, Class of 1983, is chairman of King & Spalding, where he oversees the firm's strategic growth and direction. He is a member of the firm's tort litigation practice group and serves as a lead trial counsel.

Tricia T. Lin, Class of 1991, is associate general counsel at Yahoo! Inc., where she oversees Yahoo!'s consumer advertising, marketing and promotional standards and practices. She was formerly director of business and legal affairs at Disney Interactive.

Michael O. (Mike) McCarthy III, Class of 1991, is the chief legal and administrative officer of Infinera, a global company that offers digital optical networking systems. Before joining Infinera in 2003, he was general counsel of Ciena, a communications equipment company.

James M. (Jim) McCray, Class of 2000, is the managing partner of Highwood Capital, where he supports and advises political campaign fundraising, government relations, communications, strategy and campaign finance law.

Malinda (Minda) Goldsmith Moor, Class of 1979, is co-founder of Four Seasons Commodities Corporation, an alternative investment management firm specializing in agricultural futures and options.

Sean A. Perryman, Class of 2011, is an associate with Haynes & Boone in Dallas, Texas, where he focuses on litigation.

S. Louise Rankin, Class of 1981, is the administrative partner of the San Francisco office of Jones Day, where she focuses on health care finance and works with nonprofit hospitals to access the capital bond market.

Jane Lamberti Sams, Class of 1992, is a partner in the Cochran Firm in Atlanta, where she litigates medical professional and products liability and commercial actions.

Bradford J. (Brad) Williams, Class of 1994 (JD/MBA), is director of product development at Tudor Investment Corporation in Greenwich, Connecticut.

Dee Ann Weldon-Wilson, Class of 1983, serves as senior counsel in the legal department of Exxon Mobile Corporation in Irving, Texas.

W. Weldon Wilson, Class of 1986, was a member of the executive board of Swiss Reinsurance Company, an international reinsurer based in Switzerland, before his retirement in 2009.

G. Van Velsor (Van) Wolf, Class of 1973, is of counsel at Snell & Wilmer in Phoenix, Arizona, where he practices exclusively in environmental and natural resources law at the federal, state and local levels.

Thank you

Our sincere thanks to the following members of the Board of Advisors who completed their service in 2011:

Top of page
Top of Page